Viswa Subbaraman

Viswa Subbaraman is currently the Artistic Director/Founder of Opera Vista, Houston's innovative contemporary opera company. Subbaraman has also been named the Artistic Director designate of the Skylight Music Theatre in Milwaukee, WI where he will assume duties in July 2013. Highlights of his tenure with Opera Vista include the world premiere of James Norman's Wake…, the Texas Premiere and historic New Orleans premiere of Amy Beach's Cabildo, and the creation of the annual Vista Competition for new opera. Future plans for Opera Vista include a number of touring productions and the world premiere of Somtow Sucharitkul's opera, The Silent Prince.

Mr. Subbaraman has served as Assistant Conductor of the Orchestre National de France where he assisted Kurt Masur and visiting guest conductors, such distinguished artists as Bernard Haitink, Riccardo Muti, and Sir Colin Davis. Highlights of his tenure with the Orchestre National de France include the world premiere of the Overture du Roi Lear by Paul Dukas, a performance of the Stravinsky Octet with soloists of the Orchestre in Paris' famed Théatre des Champs-Elysées and the French premiere of the Symphony for Trombone and Orchestra by Ernst Bloch, which has been recorded and released under the title Tranquille through the districlassic label. Mr. Subbaraman conducted the Orchestre National de France as a guest conductor in December 2006, and he conducted the New Year's Day concert with the Orchestre Symphonique et Lyrique de Nancy in January 2008.

Mr. Subbaraman took part in the 2006 Beethoven Seminar sponsored by the Beethoven Orchester of Bonn and the BeethovenHaus, Bonn. Normally a seminar open only to German conductors, Mr. Subbaraman was invited by Maestro Masur to take part in lectures given by BeethovenHaus scholars and was also invited to conduct the Beethoven Orchester of Bonn on the final concert. Mr. Subbaraman was also awarded the Herbert von Karajan Conducting Fellowship by the Herbert von Karajan Centrum and American Austrian Foundation which resulted in his residency at the 2005 Salzburg Festival.

Additional conducting appearances have included the Longview (TX) Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre National d'Ile de France, Thames Philharmonia (London), the Bombay Chamber Orchestra (India), Orchestre Symphonique et Lyrique de Nancy, the New Amsterdam Symphony Orchestra (New York, USA), the Midland/Odessa Symphony and Chorale (USA), the Orchestre National du Capitole Toulouse, the AudioInversions Contemporary Music Ensemble (TX), the Williamsport Symphony Orchestra (PA), and the Cabrillo Festival Orchestra (Santa Cruz, CA) as part of the Cabrillo Festival conducting seminar. Mr. Subbaraman has also conducted the National Symphony Orchestra in Washington D.C. at the Kennedy Center as a Debut Conductor in the National Conducting Institute.

Raised in West Texas, Viswa Subbaraman studied at Duke University where he earned degrees in both music and biology. After completing his degrees, he worked as assistant to William Henry Curry, Resident Conductor of the North Carolina Symphony. Upon completion of his master's degree from Texas Tech University, he was awarded a Fulbright Grant to study conducting with John Nelson in Paris where he also worked as the Visiting Assistant Conductor of the Ensemble Orchestral de Paris. Two months after arriving in Paris, Subbaraman was offered a post by Kurt Masur with the Orchestre National de France. Upon completion of his Fulbright year, Mr. Subbaraman received the first extension of a Fulbright grant ever issued by the French Fulbright Commission.

Mr. Subbaraman has also participated in the Kurt Masur Conducting Seminar at the Manhattan School of music and also studied conducting at the Institut Musical de Provence-Aubagne in France, Accademia Chigiana in Italy, and the Brevard Music Center (NC). Subbaraman was also a semifinalist in the 2005 Suwon International Conductors Competition in Suwon, Korea, in the 2006 Vakhtang Jordania Competition, and the 2007 Grzegorz Fitelberg Competition. He has studied with such conductors as Leonard Slatkin, Marin Alsop, John Nelson, David Effron, and Gunther Schuller and was also a recipient of the Edward C. Lynch Fellowship.

Feel free to download an expanded version of this biography.